The History in the Bible

My family went to church this morning, after…several months of not going on Sunday mornings.  A big part of it, I’ll admit, is that my cousin is struggling with what she believes, so my mom invited to bring her to church with us.  So we went.

I went and got myself lost, because a lot of the rooms had been moved around, and that was a little embarrassing.  When I found the right room, though, I sat with a friend, and had a bit of a conversation with her friend about how annoying it can be to loan out books to people and then get them back in terrible condition.

We didn’t have worship, since one of the guys had injured his thumb and I guess the rest of them weren’t there.  But it turned out they were doing a sermon on the book of Esther.  I’ve read Esther once, a while back, but I don’t really remember it, and I didn’t do anything in-depth, so, the sermon seemed to be interesting.

It was pretty interesting, though I wish I’d been there the previous two weeks to get it from the beginning.  The thing that really caught my interest, though, is that our speaker really seemed to think that when you really get down to all of the things that happen, the book of Esther is really interesting.  He told us some of the history behind one of the people, Haman, I think his name was, and it really hit me…

I like reading so much, yet I’ve always had trouble reading the Bible.  Part of that is because it’s so hard to understand, and part of that is because I don’t know the history or really what’s going on.  But when you get down to the history of it and the little things, it’s actually really fascinating.

I think I’m going to look into that more, instead of just reading idly.

Leave a comment